In May 1998, the former Institute of Energy (currently the Energy Institute) was invited by the Institution of Fire Engineers Hong Kong Branch to send a representative panel to Hong Kong to assess the BEng(Hons) Fire Engineering programme that has been networked to Hong Kong with the franchise of the University of Central Lancashire in Preston, United Kingdom. The purpose of the assessment was for Engineering Council registration as well as membership of the Institute. ˇ@

In anticipation of the influx of applications for membership of the Institute and to satisfy the need for having a focal point for professionals and practitioners working in energy related fields in Hong Kong to disseminate scientific and engineering knowledge relating to energy of all kinds, the possibility of establishing a local branch was contemplated. ˇ@

A meeting was conducted on the day following the degree course accreditation activities, for the Institute's Headquarter representatives to meet local members and potential members, to discuss the feasibility of establishing a local branch within Hong Kong. The meeting was aired with enthusiasm, filled with ardour discussions and adjourned with fruitful results. Ten people have volunteered to form a Preparatory Committee for establishing a Hong Kong Branch of the Institute.

Under the chairmanship of Dr. Dono Tong, the Preparatory Committee has worked very hard on various groundwork for founding a local branch, including branch constitution drafting, society registration, bank account opening, first Annual General Meeting and committee members election preparation, branch inauguration ceremony organization, coming year branch activities planning, etc. After almost a yearˇ¦s preparation work, the first Annual General Meeting of the Hong Kong Branch of the Institute was eventually held on 6 May 1999, when the Constitution of the Hong Kong Branch was officially adopted, and the Office Bearers and Committee Members were elected. Dr. Dono Tong was elected as the Branch Chairman, Mr. Joseph Chan the Vice Chairman, Mr. Raymond Fong the Hon. Secretary, Dr. Herman Tsui the Hon. Treasurer, and eight Committee Members were also elected.

A ceremony was held on 14 May 1999 at Regent Hotel in Hong Kong to celebrate the inauguration of the Hong Kong Branch. In the ceremony, Ms. Louise Evans (currently Mrs. Louise Kingham) - Chief Executive and Secretary of the Institute presented the Branch Certificate to the Branch Chairman, signifying the inauguration of the very first overseas branch of the Institute.

In 2003, the former Institute of Petroleum and the former Institute of Energy merged to form the Energy Institute. The Hong Kong Branch has also transformed to become the Branch of the Energy Institute - a stronger and more capable and resourceful organization for the professionals and practitioners working in energy related fields from all walks of life in Hong Kong, which is geared to the advancement of knowledge of energy technology for the benefit of its members and the society at large.
Energy Institute (Hong Kong Branch)

Legal and Copyright Issues and Privacy Statement

Home | About Us | Committee Members | Events & Activities | Contact Us